I’ve had a rough couple of days for no real reason. My two main goals are done today, so I have the sea otters streaming on TV as well as on this computer, for background sound. There is a great YouTube channel that I’ve used to relax – here is the link! 

Seattle Aquarium Drift away with Sea Otters 

So, my goals were to finish the mid–year report for the Friends of the Library – Orangevale Branch and pay bills. I am the treasurer of the Friends (volunteer group) and so am responsible for this. It is a job I did NOT want but was talked into by a former member who I greatly respected, and who passed away in 2020. I do not like to deal with numbers. It just does not interest me. I’m fortunate that another member DOES like detail and does most of the work on tracking the budget. But I must submit the reports. The frustration came in because I only had PDF copies of the required forms so couldn’t alter them. I spent LOTS of time yesterday searching emails and contacting folks to try and get the forms. Finally, my co-volunteer sent me the original email with the forms attached. I have no idea why she didn’t do this initially. AARGH. (Isnt AARGH something we used to see in the Peanuts comics?) 

Photo by Andrea Piacquadio on Pexels.com

Definition of argh (Entry 2 of 2) —used typically to express frustration, disappointment, anguish, or pain I was in Hawaii and I flipped on the TV and it was on. (ref, Miriam Webster Dictionary)

Another thing going on is my in-laws are coming up for a funeral service in 10 days. “My” room is also the guest room and it’s a mess. I’ve been trying to get a handle on the clutter, paper, stuff but I don’t seem to get too far. I still have things on the floor in the living room from the re-piping project. When my husband brought up the news that they’d be up here and wanted to stay with us, I was a bit freaked out. I have things scheduled this weekend and next, and frankly, I am tired of cleaning. So I told him I was going to have someone come in, and they are coming tonight to give us an estimate. I’ve thought of doing this for a while, particularly when I was going through cancer treatment, but it takes an amount of mental energy to research folks so I never got around to it. What is making me chuckle is that K is running around picking up stuff. He had offered to clean when I said I’m not up to it but it’s not realistic. He’s had back pain and just had some blood vessels in his nose cauterized because he gets regular bloody noses (and is on a blood thinner). I’ve been down this road before and it ends up with me doing things.  

After my last post where I was Debbie Downer …I’m afraid this isn’t much better. Okay. Let’s try some good news or things I’m thankful for:  

  • We had a few days of cooler temperatures (in the 90s) 
  • I did another aqua class, at a different gym, with my yoga instructor teaching! It was great. First time I’ve done water aerobics and felt like I was sweating 
  • The fruit is incredible this time of year. There is a farm stand close to where I live and so it’s an easy drive to pick up the most delicious strawberries, plums, nectarines. It’s such a treat to have in the morning for breakfast! 
  • I just finished a pretty good book in the Inspector Gamache series. Lots of folks rave about this mystery series so I finally started. I liked it, and heard they get better.  
  • I’m slightly embarrassed to say I go hooked on the reality real estate shows. They really are just fluff. I’m just amazed at some of these house. And the people! Yikes to have to get dressed up like that every day. No thanks.  
  • Speaking of which, we went to the State Fair on Monday. I can’t remember the last time we did that. It was okay; I did enjoy the art exhibits. I don’t care for the vendors trying to sell you stuff. This one lady asked me, “what do you do to style your hair in the morning?” to which I laughed and said “I don’t!” There I was with a hat and hair that basically had been washed and let dry as it was. She was selling some sort of curling iron or such.  
  • We ran into some folks we know from our running group there. Sacramento can be a small town.  

OMG I am at 752 words! Time to stop and say thanks for reading.  

2 thoughts on “Beware of Debbie Downer

  1. I think we all have those “Debbie Downer” days. I’ve had a bit of a string of them… not so much “Debbie Downer” maybe but lacking the oomph for much of anything. I’ve been ill, and was worried enough to go in to my primary care and get diagnosed, about the time you dropped this blog entry.

    They tested me for all three that they throw the word tripledemic at. Nope, not Covid, still a unicorn for that one. And not flu, either, but I rather suspected that, it didn’t have the usual course that I get with flu. This particular monster turned out to be RSV, for which they don’t yet have a vaccine, and I was “lucky” enough to pick it up! No drugs, just palliative care, so I’m napping a lot. And it should be gone on its own in a week “or two”, the PA emphasized.

    I figured I’m on about day 7, and I do notice some improvement compared to yesterday. I actually ate a little today. Onward!

    Here’s to moving past Debbie Downer days to memory building ones. Hope your in-laws visit and the funeral go smoothly.

    ((( antiseptic virtual hugs )))
    – Barb (OKM)

    Like

Leave a comment