I mentioned in the last post that I was getting an estimate for housecleaning. And today the service came! They do a “deep cleaning” first, then do maintenance. It took about 3 hours and I locked myself up in one room with the cats. They weren’t to clean that one so we could stack stuff in there. I was a bit apprehensive about this; you never know what it’s going to be like and if you will be satisfied. Also, despite my best efforts at picking up stuff I had limited time as my friend’s service was yesterday, from 11-3. I was wiped out when we got home but still tried to do some more picking up.

Results: I’m thrilled! I’ve never had anyone clean my house but wow. They were so thorough and even moved things and put the pillows back on the couch in a nicer way than I had them! It was really like hotel service. I had to laugh when I saw this in the bathroom:

Like I said – sort of like a hotel! Even funnier, we don’t even put toilet paper on that roll because Taffy unrolls it or tears it. Note the evidence below – which was taken during the pandemic when toilet paper was scarce!

If my WordPress skills were better, I could add text next to the picture, but alas. So, we now have to try and keep the house clean until my brother-in-law visits, and I still have to deal with my excess stuff.

Other things: we just finished watching Succession. I liked the show when we first started but found the meanness and bickering among the characters was draining. We continue to DVR Alone, which we got hooked on during the pandemic. I have not been at all motivated to cook which is a problem because I also don’t like to eat out.

So there you have it. I’m a bit antsy as I haven’t exercised in 2 days but it is 95 degrees out and I’d have to go to the gym. I hope you have a good weekend. Thanks for reading.

One thought on “Something New

  1. So glad you’re happy with your service. I dropped my cleaning lady during the pandemic but I always felt so good after she’d worked her magic on my house. And yes, there’s a distinct difference now that I don’t have her coming.

    Had to laugh about the kitty shredding the TP… my mother always hung her rolls so they would come out the bottom, rather than over the top, for exactly that reason. We had cats! And toddlers.

    What you mention about Succession reminds me that this is often why I will drop a series. The first season or two might be fine, but they seem to degenerate into stuff that is “too dark” for my taste.

    Like

Leave a comment